Energy Detector

Posted: April 5, 2013 in Canine Ghost Detection
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Last night, I took my dog to a local cemetery, to begin testing whether or not she could detect the presence of wandering spirits.  It is well documented that animals are extremely sensitive to what we call ghosts and spirits, and I believe that since they can be trained to detect such things as drugs and bombs, they can also be trained to use their sensitivity to energies invisible to human eyes calmly and without fear.

Because it was her first time in a new place, and because she is still a puppy (she’s six months old), I wanted to give her some time to smell everything and let her excitement level drop before starting her testing.  We went to several areas of the cemetery so that she could achieve a calmer state of mind.

While most of her reaction was attributable to excitement at being in a new place with new smells, there was one possible reaction that seemed out of character for her.  She was sniffing the ground and moving all over the place, when suddenly, she came to a dead stop, stared at something straight ahead of her, and refused to move.  Her ears went up and forward, and her hackles rose.  She did not growl or bark.  She just stood there staring at something I couldn’t see.  I remained quiet, observing her behavior and her stance.  I noticed that her tail went from a position of confidence and dominance, to a position of fear and uncertainty – she tucked her tail almost completely between her legs – and without any warning at all, she suddenly bolted, pulling hard on the leash to get away from whatever had startled her.  She made no sound at all during this entire event.

The event caused her to become very submissive, and for the rest of the testing session, though she was allowed as far out as the leash would extend, she neither pulled at it, nor moved around with the same high level of excitement.  On a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the highest, her excitement level – which started out at 10 – dropped to about 5 after that event.

I could not attribute the dog’s unusual reaction to coyotes, as there were none in the area at the time.  No living humans were in the area, either – and if there were, the dog would have pulled to go and greet them, because she loves meeting new people.  She would not have responded with fear, as she did during the above-noted event.

I will be making several return visits to the same location in order to familiarize the dog with the area, and thus, continue this avenue of testing.  Results will be documented, and once she has become familiar with the area and is calmer during our sessions there, I will begin recording the sessions on video.

Comments
  1. Jill Morton says:

    Is this in the best interest of the dog? Surely the findings are significant, but the thought of the dog being terrorized worry me.

    • That’s a great question, Jill – and I understand your concern. Because cemeteries are considered to be holy (or, if you prefer, sanctified) ground, it’s actually quite safe to take her there. If there *are* any dead people wandering around the cemeteries, it’s not likely that they would want to cause harm to anyone or anything. Thus, if the dog reacts to someone only she can see, it’s not likely that she will be traumatized in any way. Please know that I would never intentionally put my dog in a situation where she could be harmed in any way; if at any time I feel it is unsafe for her to be at a location, I immediately take her home. She is never off-leash – she stays with me at all times – and we never get too far away from my car.

  2. What a great idea, and it makes perfect sense! I wonder what would happen if you took an article of clothing that belonged to someone who was recently buried to the cemetery, and let the dog sniff it. It would be interesting to see if the dog could locate the right grave.

    • That’s actually a really good idea, Bev. I’m not sure how I would go about getting something like that – as we know, death is a touchy subject for the living – but if I can find a way to do it, it’s definitely something worth testing. I’ll work on that and see what I can come up with.

      • I don’t know of anyone else who does this so you might be onto something. You would be surprised how many people want to know about the spirit world, especially after a loved one crosses over. Here is a suggestion: about a month or so after a funeral, send a letter of introduction to the family to let them know what you are doing with the dog research, and ask if they would be interested in getting involved; explain what it entails and a bit of history, along with your telephone number, inviting them to call you if interested in the program. That way you are not putting any pressure on the family…you are leaving it to them to call you.

      • Thanks for the suggestion, Bev. I noticed several fresh burials last night, so I’ll definitely keep that in mind. I’ll admit I’m concerned that families will feel I’m being disrespectful and insensitive to their grief by proposing such a thing. But I’m sure I can find a way to word a letter to them that will show them where I’m coming from. Thanks again! 🙂

      • You are welcome and good luck with your research!

  3. Gaycanuck says:

    That’s really freaky… I have heard that about dogs that they can sense things like that… Very very cool…

Leave a Reply

