Learning the Ropes

Posted: September 10, 2012 in General
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

Long-time paranormal investigators will tell you that, like every human being on the planet, they, too, make mistakes.  Most strive to learn from those errors in judgment, moving forward with those lessons in mind and doing their best to grow to become better investigators, team members, friends, and better people in general. I am no different; I’ve made errors in judgment many times.  I would hope that I have learned from those mistakes, and that I am a better person overall today because of those lessons.

But, I still have tendencies that I really need to work on.  I’m not quite as bad as I used to be, but I do still tend to talk a little too much during investigations, and sometimes – although no hurt is intended – I ask questions or make statements I can honestly say I’ve never heard other investigators express… because they’re absolutely inappropriate.  In fact, I did this on the return visit to Frank Slide earlier this year, and it caused former team member and co-founder Teri to walk away from the team.  There were other reasons for her leaving, but that was the main one.  I have learned from that mistake, and while I know she will not return, I hope that I can pass along to new members Robyn and Michelle the benefit of the lessons I’ve had to learn the hard way.

Everything in this field is about patience and silence.  I know from experience that both of these things can be difficult to practice;  as I said, I still have tendencies to talk too much or move around too much during investigations.  But I think that the more we practice these things,  the greater the effect they have on our lives in general.  The more we practice silence and stillness, the more open we can become to what’s around us.  Everything connects to everything else, right?

I have made a lot of mistakes since beginning this work four years ago.  I won’t lie about that, or try to hide from it.  I also know that I will probably make mistakes in the future – because I’m human, and I’m prone to making errors.  But I hope that the errors I’ve made in the past have taught me how to do things in the present and the future, and that as long as I continue to hold those lessons in front of me, I will become a better person and a better investigator.

Thank you to everyone who has subscribed to this blog and who follows us on YouTube, Twitter, and Facebook.  Thanks, too, to everyone who has taken the time to share their thoughts and insights on the posts made so far; it is appreciated more than you can know.

Have a great week ahead, everyone, and remember:  We don’t learn unless we make mistakes to learn from…

 

Comments
  1. Gaycanuck says:

    Don’t beat yourself up about making mistakes along the way… I know you area first rate investigator and don’t do things to sabotage your work. Be proud of what you have accomplished here….

Leave a Reply

