More Strange Events (migrated)

Posted: July 5, 2012 in Archived, Holly's House
Tags: ,

(originally published Oct. 4, 2011 as “New Events”)

Since the last week of September, we have been experiencing some unexplained events in our house. Odd sounds that can’t be accounted for, voices that can’t be explained… Our most recent event was last night:

It started around 10:30pm. I was up watching TV; my husband was snoring loudly, and the bedroom door was closed. Both cats were curled up asleep on one of the loveseats in the living room.

While watching TV, I heard the sound of a door opening. I thought it was my husband getting up to go to the bathroom, but when I looked down the hall, the bedroom door was closed. I listened, and I heard him snoring. I paused my program and got up to investigate, checking all the rooms, including the kitchen. The only door that had been closed was the bedroom door; all the other doors were open, as they were supposed to be. Finding nothing amiss, I went back to the living room and resumed watching my show.

A few minutes later, I heard the sound again. Again, I searched for the source, and again, I found nothing. I went back to the living room and resumed watching my show.

The third time it happened, it woke both of the cats. A door was definitely being opened somewhere in the house, but every time I checked, everything was as it was supposed to be. I even checked the furnace room door in the basement. It, too, was closed. The bedroom door remained closed, my husband was still snoring, and the doors in the other rooms were all still open.

This event occurred twice more before I decided I was going to go to bed. When I got into the bedroom and closed the door, my husband woke up and got up to go to the bathroom. While he was in the bathroom, I heard a very clear, male voice say, “Hey! You!” from the bedroom doorway. I called out to my husband, asking him if he’d spoken; he said no. I asked him if he had just spoken to our cat Charlie; he said no.

I tried – without success – to get comfortable in bed while I waited for my husband, but I felt very uneasy and tense. This bothered me, because we have been co-existing with what we’ve come to call our “residents” since 2005, and in six years, I have never felt the kind of uneasiness I felt last night.

I have not initiated any investigative work in the house, yet. I need to wait and see if the activity is going to continue – and possibly, increase – or if these and the previous events are isolated incidents.

 

Leave a Reply

