Knocked Off (migrated)

Posted: July 5, 2012 in Archived, Holly's House
Tags: ,

(originally published 26, 2011)

Last night, at approximately half past midnight, I was sitting on the couch in my living room watching television when I felt a sudden cool breeze blow across me, and then, the sound of something hitting the carpet just behind the couch. I paused the program I was watching and got up to investigate.

Although the sound had occurred almost directly behind the couch, I checked every room on the main floor, including the bathroom. Nothing was out of place in any of the rooms.

I returned to the living room and looked around, trying to figure out what had fallen. None of the books, movies, or ornaments were out of place or on the floor. I happened to look towards the china cabinet, and when I did, I saw a tissue box on the floor beside a table placed behind the couch at the end opposite to where I was sitting. I knew immediately that that was what I’d heard hitting the carpet.

I picked up the box and put it back on the small table, and then sat back down on the couch and returned to the program I’d been watching. No further events occurred until about ten minutes after I went to bed. My husband and I had been talking for a couple of minutes, and then, when everything was quiet and he was asleep again, I heard the words, “I love you.”  I thought my husband had spoken, so I replied, “I love you, too.” When my husband woke up and said, “What?” I asked, “Didn’t you just say I love you?”  He said no, and then he said he loved me too, and then he went back to sleep. I didn’t know what to make of that, so I said nothing.

The rest of the night, I was very restless and had difficulty sleeping. I did doze off at one point, only to wake about an hour later crying from a bad nightmare. I attributed this to the fact that the wind was blowing hard all night, and to hot flashes that seemed to come every ten minutes or so. But I will be going back to bed after making this post, in the hope that I’ll be able to sleep. If any further events occur, I will post them.

 

Leave a Reply

